Liturgical Year 2019 – Cycle C

A New Year Begins on December 2, 2018

As defined by the Catechism of the Catholic Church, the Liturgical Year is “The celebration throughout the year of the mysteries of the Lord’s birth, life, death, and Resurrection in such a way that the entire year becomes a ‘year of the Lord’s grace.'”

The start of a new liturgical year, beginning with the first Sunday of Advent, also marks the transition from one lectionary cycle (A, B, or C) to the next.  December 2, 2018 will mark the beginning of Cycle C.

These cycles are a result of the Second Vatican Council, which ordered a change in the Sunday readings at Mass so that Catholics would become more familiar with the text of the Bible. As a result we now have a three-year cycle of readings built around readings from the three synoptic Gospels—Matthew, Mark, and Luke.

The Season of Advent begins four Sundays before Christmas (December 2, 2018) and ends after the mid-afternoon prayer on Christmas Eve (December 24, 2018).

The Christmas Season begins with Evening Prayer on Christmas Eve (December 24, 2018) and ends with Evening Prayer on the Feast of the Baptism of the Lord (January 13, 2019).

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :
Translate English/Spanish »